20th Jan 2015 – Nong Khai

I’m up nice and early because it’s COLD! I had to pinch another blanket in the middle of the night and I was still cold. Downstairs, it’s always a bit of a challenge having to refuse food and asking for a place to buy fruit because I hate offending anyone, especially those whose culture is to show affection and care by feeding you to the point of no return. Through the language barrier, I am sent on my way to look for fruit on one of the main streets. On a bike.

P1030849 (2)

I’ve never ridden a bike anywhere other than Australia, but if you stay out of other people’s way, it’s not too bad. Early morning was still busy in Nong Khai, motorcycles and cars going everywhere. I think people expect anything, so most people are very aware. I was fine, until I forgot where to go to ride back to FFAC. I had an inkling I’d turned near a motorbike shop and it turns out that instinct was correct! I’d found nothing to eat though, and upon seeing this, Pensri took me again. This time she rode and I sat on the back! I wish I’d been able to take a photo. We rode up the street, further than I’d gone to an early morning market. Plenty of fruit and seafood on display. I wish I’d been able to cook up some prawns.

Back at the Babies Home, a girl from New Zealand was there. She comes most mornings, from 8 to 11 to spend time with the children. One of the girls, Elese received a package from her adoptive parents. They are from Germany and sent over a teddy bear, backpack and book with their photos. She was adorably most interested in the book.

20150120_094546 (2)

After all the excitement, the girl from New Zealand left, and we walked to the hotel where Raj and Shoba are staying. Just across two busy main highways. When the two Thai ladies were nervous about crossing the road, I know I definitely was!

20150120_100733

Pensri, Raj, Shoba and Nuttasorn in the hotel lobby

20150120_142433

All of the FFAC crew with Raj and Shoba in the middle

With everyone at the Babies Home, Raj and Shoba started their Pranic Healing session.

P1030843 (2)

Channeling sex energy into your brain. Looks as funny as it sounds, but great fun

P1030837 (2)

Left or right!? Saai/Kwaa?!

P1030831 (2)

Nuttasorn fulfilling her translation duties

P1030834 (2)

It takes 3 people to remove 2 kg of jewelry from 1 person

P1030835 (2)

Listening and learning

After Pranic Healing, the children went down for their nap and Nuttasorn, Shoba and Raj went for lunch. Once they came back, we all went for a little sightseeing along the beautiful Mekong River. Today was very hazy, so the photos aren’t intentionally blurry! We also caught their version of a Tuk Tuk to the Friendship Bridge, between Thailand and Laos.

20150120_171147

Friendship Bridge. That sign in the back, says not to pass and I’m being such a rebel with my foot

20150120_170540

The train to Laos

20150120_165318

Nuttasorn said to stand in front of the thai sign

20150120_162406

Along the boadwalk

P1030855

Beautiful Mekong

P1030853

Riding high

 

Leave a comment